uKit
Questions and Answers

A 301 redirect is a permanent redirect from one URL to another. In essence, this is a server response to the request it receives informing that the address has been permanently changed. As a result, a site visitor and search engines are redirected to a new URL that is different from the one they originally typed into their browser or selected from a search engine results page.

Why use a 301 redirect?

This type of redirect lets you transfer the link juice (ranking power) from one page to another. It's commonly used in the following situations:

  • changing the page URL
  • merging the page duplicates
  • moving your website from one domain name to another
  • redirecting from www to non-www versions of your website pages

How to set up a 301 redirect?

Open the Settings section:

Go to the 301 redirect tab:

Provide the addresses of the old and new pages and save the changes.